What's the Hardest part of traveling in Europe?

Thursday, 11 June 2015






Well the poll results are in, and it would seem that the best blog, by overwhelming support, is the concept of being a Chloe.  I’m a little surprised, especially since to my knowledge the real Chloe has, as of yet, not seen this blog.  But I guess the moral is that we all have a little Chloe in us.  Five of you voted for Grace's blog, which I have decided is an acceptable loss.



Grace finished the last of the hobnobs on the plane to Lisbon.  This was a little concerning from a safety perspective, and I worried that I would not be able to stave off the hobnoblin.  However, it turns out the true cure to hobnoblinitis is 80 degree weather. 



 Grace hated Dublin.  I mean, not really.  She had a good time, but I didn’t realize until we arrived in Lisbon, and she turned into a hyper 6-year old, that she was really not enjoying herself to her fullest potential.  Something about freezing rain kept her from really feeling like she was on vacation.  
                                 WHO KNEW




As you can see I'm adjusting to life in Portugal very well, the way a grown up adult would.

Jenny and Alex were with us for the majority of the time we were in Lisbon, and man, they are they best.  We had SO much fun together, and they are the best travel buddies anyone could ask for.  






















Oh man you guys, there was this horse butt.  I'm not even kidding it was totally there. Man. That was hilarious. 















Hahaha I'm giggling right now just thinking about it.  Oh man. Good stuff. 

Grace asks me to take her picture occasionally.  When asked if I would appear in any of the pictures on HER blog, she responded with “mmm….it’s kind of a SERIOUS photo blog…” 

WELL.  I CAN BE SERIOUS







Oh man, speaking of serious, look at this sign they put on the subway doors here.  It’s like, don’t get hit in the crotch by the door LOL.  


Like who would do that.  As you can see by my face in the reflection, I was very pleased with my discovery.  Grace didn’t think it was as funny, even though I explained it to her several times. 














We took a day trip to Sintra, and went to this awesome palace called Pena, and went on a pretty killer hike.












  This is one of the opening archways to the palace. I’m pretty sure it’s called “Sea Hobo Teabags Clamshell” or something in Portuguese I dunno I don’t speak Portuguese.


Grace really liked the palace, at one point exclaiming, "this is crazy to be here because this is totally something I would pin on Pinterest on my Getaway board".  That's basically her highest praise.  



Over the course of the hike we passed a total of five "cafeterias" that were run by the national park.  I know there were five because I investigated all of them to see which one had the best snacks. Spoiler alert they were all the same and they were all terrible.  Here I am choosing between the shitty tuna sandwich and the shitty turkey pesto wrap. I chose the turkey. It was a mistake. 





Grace would ask me to take pictures of her occasionally, which i would “do all wrong” by “not listening to her” or something I dunno I wasn’t really paying attention.  The results, however, are a hilarious series of pictures I have titled,

 "Grace is not Impressed"




















lol it happens to Sophie too it must be genetic


You can't tell but the kebab is wrapped in a pizza
 aka my fantasy
The food here is super awesome.  I won’t post too many pictures of food because that’s Grace’s job, and according to my newly appointed campaign manager, Dan Miller, I should stick to pithy commentary and not go head-to-head with Grace in the picture department if I want to win the "best blog" award.  Nevertheless I am obsessed with these kebabs.


They're SO GOOD.   Each bite is pure ecstasy.  When we get back to the US, after tracking down some hobnobs, I am going to Spitz in Eagle Rock. Who's with me

Also, when you look at the spinning log of meat, does anyone else have the urge to turn their head sideways, sink their front teeth directly into the log, and let the meat sheer directly into their mouth as the spit rotates? thats normal, right? guys?










omg I almost forgot, there are these adorable little scooter taxis here called TUK TUKS can you even believe that??  Aren't they adorable? I love them heheeeeetuktuktuktuktuk


If I lived in Lisbon I would definitely drive a tuk tuk


doesn't it look like a face

doesn't it


                                                                 ............

...tuktuk





 At night we went out in the Bairro Alto district, which we agreed kind of feels like Mexico.  This guy was walking around trying to sell glowy toys and necklaces to tourists, and as we saw him coming Grace said, "Ugh you guys...this guy is gonna pick on me I am his prime target. Try not to encourage him."





and sure enough




Basically, we were all just saying "no no no" and trying to wave him off the entire time, but he just kept putting stuff on Grace and squeaking this ducky toy in her face, and we just couldn't stop laughing so our "no's" didn't carry a lot of weight.  


We walked around, and partook in this ancient Portuguese custom called "drinking heavily in the street".  It's so cool to be immersed in a completely different culture! We did their national ritual of "railing shots", and listened to the song of the indigenous Portuguese people, "Turn Down for Que".  I'm learning so much.





And now onto the main event, pictures of Grace taking pictures. Grace really brought her A-game in Lisbon, and you should check out what she's actually looking at over here at her (inferior) blog. 



Jenny wanted to be a part of the team but didn't have a camera, so instead offered valuable moral support.



You might be asking yourself why they didn't just ask me to take the photo, since I was standing right there taking it anyway, and if so, you do not understand the unbridled joy that is the selfie stick.



I don't even know how she did this where are her legs










this one made it to Instagram, but for those who missed it, here it is.  Basically I was trying to take a nice picture and Grace just walked up like "OUT OF THE WAY" and took hers anyway and then said something like "OH DID I RUIN THAT" and walked away



stay tuned for more updates, as the quest to find a suitable hobnob replacement continues






No comments:

Post a Comment